items
* Free shipping to ANZ only

Reading groups

It's a great time to be in a reading group. With Allen & Unwin you can read and discuss some of the best in contemporary publishing.

Reading groups are a relaxing, fun thing to do for people who are open-minded and curious about what they read.

Discover new titles and books you might not normally pick up and buy, or re-examine books you already know and love. You can make your reading experience richer and more rewarding by being a member of a reading group and meeting others who are interested in sharing their reading experience.

Still not sure what do to? We've put together some tips on how to start your own reading group.

Our top-selling recommended reads for reading groups:

  1. Barracuda - Christos Tsiolkas
  2. The Yellow Eyes of Crocodiles - Katherine Pancol
  3. The Son-in-Law - Charity Norman
  4. Infamy - Lenny Bartulin
  5. Coal Creek - Alex Miller

Keep an eye on our Pinterest Reading Group board for more popular book club notes.

Latest reading group notes

Spotlight:

Mothers and Daughters

by Kylie Ladd

A clear-eyed, insightful and wildly entertaining look into the complicated, emotional world of mothers and their teenage daughters by the acclaimed author of Into My Arms, Last Summer and After the Fall.

Spotlight:

The Eye of the Sheep

by Sofie Laguna

Told from the mesmerising point of view and in the inimitable voice of Jimmy, this is an extraordinary novel about a poor family who is struggling to cope with a different and difficult child.

Spotlight:

We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves

by Karen Joy Fowler

By the author of worldwide bestseller The Jane Austen Book Club: you can't choose your family, but they can make choices for you. Big, life-defining choices.

Spotlight:

The Undertaking

by Audrey Magee

A stunning, riveting debut novel in the tradition of Bernhard Schlink's The Reader and Rachel Seiffert's The Dark Room, The Undertaking shines an intense light on history and illuminates the lives of those caught up in one of its darkest chapters.

-->