items
* Free shipping to ANZ only

I Hear the Sirens in the Street

Sean Duffy 2

Adrian McKinty    
Format: Paperback - C format
Pages: 256
AUD $29.99inc. GST
I Hear the Sirens in the Street

SHARE WITH YOUR FRIENDS

More about this book

Detective Inspector Sean Duffy returns for the incendiary sequel to The Cold Cold Ground.

Description

Sean Duffy knows there's no such thing as a perfect crime. But a torso in a suitcase is pretty close.

Still, one tiny clue is all it takes, and there it is. A tattoo. So Duffy, fully fit and back at work after the severe trauma of his last case, is ready to follow the trail of blood - however faint - that always, always connects a body to its killer.

A legendarily stubborn man, Duffy becomes obsessed with this mystery as a distraction from the ruins of his love life, and to push down the seed of self-doubt that he seems to have traded for his youthful arrogance.

So from country lanes to city streets, Duffy works every angle. And wherever he goes, he smells a rat ...


Adrian McKinty grew up in Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland. After studying at Oxford University he moved to New York City, working in bars, bookstores, building sites and finally the basement stacks of the Columbia University Medical School Library. In 2000 he relocated to Denver, Colorado where he taught high school English and began writing fiction. His debut Dead I Well May Be was shortlisted for the Ian Fleming Steel Dagger Award and his most recent novel Fifty Grand won the 2010 Spinetingler Award. In 2009 Adrian moved to Melbourne, Australia with his wife and two children.

ISBN: 9781846688188
Australian Pub.: February 2013
Publisher: Profile Books
Imprint: Serpents Tail
Subject: Crime & Mystery
Edition Number:

The Sydney Morning Herald says 'This book is atmospheric, beautifully paced and precisely constructed; one that is genuinely hard to put down. Fans of Billingham, Rankin and Lehane and their ilk will not want to miss out on McKinty, who is now basing himself in Melbourne - where he will doubtless become a valuable addition to the brotherhood of wordsmiths in Australia.'

Reader review

'I found this a fast and easy read. Even though Duffy was frustrated at every turn without many results for much of the book, there was still enough happening to keep it interesting. The writing style in itself is entertaining, alternating between dark, self-deprecating humour and evocative prose.

'Duffy is a likeable anti-hero who takes some nasty incidents in his stride and soldiers on. He’s gritty and rough with a dark and cynical humour.  The other characters are well-structured with shades of grey rather than being simplistic and clichéd. The storyline motors along at a natural pace without seeming contrived and has just the right amount of detail.

'Overall, it was an entertaining and fast read that left me wanting to share more adventures with Duffy.' - L. Tubnor, VIC

Would you like to read and review books before they are published? Subscribe to our newsletters for your chance to win!

-->