Mary-Rose Maccoll

Mary-Rose MacColl is an Australian writer whose first novel, No Safe Place, was runner-up in the 1995 Australian Vogel literary award. Her first non-fiction book, The Birth Wars, was a finalist in the 2009 Walkley Awards. In Falling Snow (October 2012), Mary-Rose's fourth novel, tells the largely unknown story of a small group of Scottish women who ran a field hospital for France in World War I in an old abbey. MacColl holds degrees in journalism and creative writing and lives in Brisbane, Australia with her husband and son.


Books by Mary-Rose Maccoll

For a Girl

Published: May 2017

Memories and secrets buried for over twenty years surfaced after Mary-Rose MacColl gave birth to a much longed-for baby.

Swimming Home

Published: October 2015

In London in the mid-1920s, a young Australian and her aunt are each on a journey of self-discovery - one by attempting to swim the English Channel the other to rediscover the woman she used to be. From the bestselling author of In Falling Snow.

In Falling Snow

Published: October 2013

A vivid and compelling story of love, war and secrets, set against the backdrop of WWI France

In Falling Snow

Published: October 2012

A vivid and compelling story of love, war and secrets, set against the backdrop of WWI France

Killing Superman

Published: July 2003

Killing Superman is a novel of betrayals, love, family grief and the effects of war. Scott's father has been pronounced dead. His sister believes it's him so why can't Scott? An intimate and stunning portrayal of a father-son relationship. ;;

Angels in the Architecture

Published: May 1999

A murder mystery, a romance and an emotional journey that spans the twentieth century, Angels In The Architecture is about the nature of innocence and the triumph of love over hate.

No Safe Place

Published: August 1996

An exploration of sex, power and personal responsibility, No Safe Place is a contemporary thriller with the unexpected at every turn.

Back to Authors List

homepage promo2-FABER