Nicola Upson

Nicola Upson was born in Suffolk and read English at Downing College, Cambridge. She has worked in theatre and as a freelance journalist, and is the author of two works of non-fiction and the recipient of an Escalator Award from Arts Council England. She lives with her partner, and shares her time between Cambridge and Cornwall.

Books by Nicola Upson

Sorry for the Dead

Published: January 2020

A compelling murder mystery in which events shift between a world on the brink of a devastating world war and the deadly aftermath of that war.

Nine Lessons

Published: January 2019

In the years before the Great War, M.R. James told ghost stories by candlelight to a handful of friends and scholars. Now, twenty-five years later, those men are dying, killed off one by one...

Nine Lessons

Published: November 2017

The seventh Josephine Tey mystery: Josephine Tey is in Cambridge, a town gripped by fear and suspicion as a serial rapist stalks the streets.

London Rain

Published: July 2016

The latest instalment of the much-loved series starring Josephine Tey from Nicola Upson.

The Death of Lucy Kyte

Published: June 2014

'Who is Lucy Kyte?' Macdonald shrugged. 'Your guess is as good as mine. Lucy Kyte is a mystery.'

Fear in the Sunlight

Published: December 2012

Hitchcock meets Josephine Tey in this wonderfully atmospheric murder mystery.

Two For Sorrow

Published: April 2011

Third in the gripping new golden age detective series featuring Josephine Tey.

Angel with Two Faces

Published: March 2010

The second in the enthralling historical crime series featuring Golden Age crime writer Josephine Tey.

An Expert in Murder

Published: April 2009

From a great new talent in British crime writing, this is the first in an engrossing new series that cleverly blends fact and fiction.

Back to Authors List