The Greatest Thing

Sarah Winifred Searle
AUD $19.99
9781761067655.jpg

This tender YA comic is perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Drama and Shannon Hale and LeUyen Pham's Real Friends who are ready to graduate to their first teen graphic novel.

It's the first day of Grade Ten, and Winifred is going to reinvent herself. Now that her two best (and only) friends have transferred to a private school, Win must navigate high school on her own. Luckily, she isn't alone for long. In art class, she meets Oscar and April. They don't look or act like the typical teenagers in her town: they're creative, a little rebellious and seem comfortable in their own skin in a way that Win can only dream of.

But even though Winifred is breaking out of her shell, there's one secret she can't bear to admit to April and Oscar, or even to herself - and this lie threatens everything. Win needs to face her own truths, but she doesn't need to do it alone. Through the healing power of clandestine sleepovers, op-shopping and zine publishing, Win finds and accepts what it means to be herself.

'Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful. This book will stay with you forever.' Jessica Walton, author of Stars In Their Eyes

'A heartfelt tale of loneliness, love and friendship. I couldn't put it down.' Alison Evans, award-winning author of Ida and Euphoria Kids

Author bio:

Sarah Winifred Searle originally hails from spooky New England in the United States, but currently lives in sunny Perth, Australia with their beloved spouse and cat. Best known for vulnerable memoir and compassionate fiction, they write and draw comics and still like to make zines with their friends when they have time. www.swinsea.com

Category: Children's
ISBN: 9781761067655
Publisher: A&U Children's
Imprint: A & U Children
Pub Date: May 2022
Page Extent: 352
Format: Paperback
Age: 13 - 18
Subject: Children's / Teenage fiction & true stories

Teachers Notes