The Imaginary

A.F. Harrold, illustrated by Emily Gravett
AUD $21.99
9781408852460.jpg

Something's hunting Rudger, and all he can do is run. There's nobody to help him. Nobody will listen to him. Oh. and he doesn't exist. An extraordinary tale illustrated by the incomparable Emily Gravett

Rudger is Amanda Shuffleup's imaginary friend. It's a funny old life, not actually being there, but someone's got to do it.
Nobody else can see Rudger - until the sinister Mr Bunting arrives at Amanda's door. Mr Bunting hunts imaginaries. Rumour says that he eats them. And he's sniffed out Rudger.
Soon Rudger is alone, and running for his imaginary life. He needs to find Amanda before Mr Bunting catches him - and before Amanda forgets him and he fades away to nothing. But how can an unreal boy stand alone in the real world?
Fans of Roald Dahl and Neil Gaiman will love this unsettling story of love, imagination and not really being there.

Author bio:

A.F. Harrold is an English poet (1975 - present) who writes and performs for adults and children. He is the owner of many books, a handful of hats, a few good ideas and one beard. He spends his time showing off on stage, writing poems and books, and stroking his beard (it helps churn the ideas). He lives in Reading with a stand-up comedian and two cats.
Emily Gravett was born in Brighton. After leaving school with few qualifications, she spent eight years living on the road before getting a place on the BA illustration course at Brighton University. She won the Macmillan Prize for Illustration with Wolves, which was published to great acclaim in August 2005, winning many prizes and marking the beginning of an international career creating extraordinary books for children. She lives in Brighton with her daughter, partner and two rats.

Category: Children's
ISBN: 9781408852460
Edition No: 1
Publisher: Bloomsbury UK
Imprint: Bloomsbury Child
Pub Date: October 2014
Page Extent: 240
Format: Hard Cover
Subject: Children's, Teenage & educational

homepage promo2-FABER