Finding Eadie

Caroline Beecham
AUD $29.99
9781760529642.jpg

The author of Maggie's Kitchen and Eleanor's Secret delivers another compelling story of love and mystery during wartime.

London 1943: War and dwindling resources are taking their toll on the staff of Partridge Press. The pressure is on to create new books to distract readers from the grim realities of the war, but Partridge's rising star, Alice Cotton, leaves abruptly and cannot be found.

Alice's secret absence is to birth her child, and although her baby's father remains unnamed, Alice's mother promises to help her raise her tiny granddaughter, Eadie. Instead, she takes a shocking action.

Theo Bloom is employed by the American office of Partridge. When he is tasked with helping the British publisher overcome their challenges, Theo has his own trials to face before he can return to New York to marry his fiancee.

Inspired by real events during the Second World War, Finding Eadie is a story about the triumph of three friendships bound by hope, love, secrets and the belief that books have the power to change lives.

PRAISE FOR ELEANOR'S SECRET
'Fans of Natasha Lester and Kate Morton will very much enjoy this new release and the dual time zones mean the book will appeal to a broader audience.' Debbishdotcom

PRAISE FOR MAGGIE'S KITCHEN
'Extremely engaging . . . reads like the work of a veteran storyteller.' Sydney Morning Herald

Author bio:

Caroline Beecham is a novelist, writer and producer. She is the author of three books: the bestselling novel Maggie's Kitchen, published August 2016, Eleanor's Secret, published May 2018, and Finding Eadie, July 2020. Her debut novel was shortlisted for Booktopia's Best Historical Fiction in 2016 and nominated for Book of the Year and Caroline for Best New Author by AusRom Today. She has worked in documentary, film and drama, and discovered that she loves to write fiction and to share lesser known histories; in particular, those of pioneering women whose lives transport us back to the past, yet speak to us now. Caroline studied the craft of novel writing at the Faber Academy in Sydney, with Curtis Brown Creative in London, and has a MA in Film & Television and a MA in Creative Writing. She lives in Sydney with her husband and two teenage sons, and is working on a fourth novel and adapting Maggie's Kitchen as a drama series.

Category: Fiction
ISBN: 9781760529642
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Imprint: Allen & Unwin
Pub Date: July 2020
Page Extent: 368
Format: Paperback - C format
Subject: Fiction & related items

 

Read the opening chapters:

Finding Eadie Chapter Sampler by Allen & Unwin on Scribd

Reading Group Notes

 

Vogel-Website-banner-380-x-590

Reading Groups

It's a great time to be in a reading group! Discover new titles and books you might not normally pick up and buy, or re-examine books you already know and love. You can make your reading experience richer and more rewarding by being a member of a reading group and meeting others who are interested in sharing their reading experience. ... find out more

For the latest Reading Group Notes, news and competitions subscribe here