Harry Mac

Russell Eldridge
AUD $29.99
9781760113209.jpg

In this beautiful coming-of-age story set in a year of political turmoil in South Africa, Tom and Millie are best friends, relying on each other to make sense of what's going on in their lives and in the lives of their families.

Tom and Millie are best friends who live in a quiet lane on the edge of town. They rely on each other to make sense of what's going on in their lives and in the lives of their families - especially Harry Mac's.

Harry Mac, Tom's dad, is a man of silences and secrets. And now Tom is involved in one of those secrets.

At school, Tom sits through lessons on the arms race and President Kennedy, waiting until he can be back on the lane where life is far more interesting: why does a black car drive slowly up the lane every night? And what did Harry Mac mean when he wrote in his newspaper 'people disappear in the night'? A series of shocking events and discoveries lead Tom closer to the truth, but threaten to tear his world apart.

Set within a fascinating period of South African politics, this is a coming-of-age story full of heart, soul and hope, in the tradition of Jasper Jones and To Kill a Mockingbird.

Author bio:

Russell Eldridge is South African by birth and lives in Byron Bay. Harry Mac is his debut novel.

Category: Fiction
ISBN: 9781760113209
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Imprint: Allen & Unwin
Pub Date: July 2015
Page Extent: 304
Format: Paperback - C format
Age: 0 - 0
Subject: Fiction & related items

2018-VOGELS-PROMO

Reading Groups

It's a great time to be in a reading group! Discover new titles and books you might not normally pick up and buy, or re-examine books you already know and love. You can make your reading experience richer and more rewarding by being a member of a reading group and meeting others who are interested in sharing their reading experience. ... find out more