The Final Cut

Robert Jeffreys
AUD $29.99
9781760685836.jpg
Availability: Not Yet Published

Can she be saved … from herself?

Back after suspension, Detective Sergeant Robert Cardilini just wants to get on with the job. But his bosses have other ideas and partner him with an eager, young detective named Lorraine Spencer. To make matters worse, the pair are tasked with solving domestic violence cases. Cardilini thinks it's a waste of time: without the support of the courts, the police are hamstrung. Spencer knows better.

When they find a young woman bleeding and tied to a chair in a suburban kitchen, they chalk it up as another hopeless case. But as they start investigating, they realise the woman is a willing participant in a sinister game of exploitation run by the highest echelons of business and government.

Desperate to unravel the mystery and shake up the system, Spencer goes out on a limb. But will her partner support her, or will she be thrown to the wolves?

A dark and compulsive crime thriller for fans of Ian Rankin, Michael Robotham, Jane Harper and A.J. Finn.

Author bio:

Robert Jeffreys worked as an actor, teacher, builder, real estate agent, personal security agent and playwright of the professionally produced stage plays Cox Four, Covert, The Simple Truth and The Messenger. ABC Radio National featured his radio plays Covert (which received an AWGIE award) and Bodily Harm. He also published a poetry anthology, Frame of Mind. Robert's first novel, Man at the Window (Book 1 in the Detective Cardilini series), was published in 2018. Robert sadly passed away in 2019, while working on the final draft of Book 2 in the series, The Final Cut. The manuscript was completed by his wife, Rosalba Jeffreys.

Category: Fiction
ISBN: 9781760685836
Publisher: Bonnier Echo
Imprint: Echo
Pub Date: August 2021
Page Extent: 400
Format: Paperback - C format
Subject: Fiction & related items

2022-Vogel-rectangle-tile

Reading Groups

It's a great time to be in a reading group! Discover new titles and books you might not normally pick up and buy, or re-examine books you already know and love. You can make your reading experience richer and more rewarding by being a member of a reading group and meeting others who are interested in sharing their reading experience. ... find out more

For the latest Reading Group Notes, news and competitions subscribe here