The Mint Lawn

Gillian Mears
AUD $22.99
Availability: Temporarily unavailable from this website, please try another retailer

Winner of the 1990 Australian/Vogel Award, GIllian Meares' debut novel is set on the north coast of New South Wales and tells the story of the varied relationships and personal growth of a 25-year-old woman in a rural community.

Winner of the Australian/Vogel's Literary Award 1990

North Coast, New South Wales. Clementine is twenty-five and still living in the place where she grew up, rooted there by memories and her own inability to make changes until she has understood her past. The past is dominated by memories of her mother, and her mother, and her mother's attempts to dramatise and enrich small-town life and the perceptions of her three clever, receptive daughters.

But only Clementine has stayed. Is this out of loyalty to her mother's memory? Or to comfort her father? Perhaps she wants to find peace with Hugh, her earnest husband in whose house she most uncomfortably lives? Or is the lure Thomas, who alone can appreciate Clementine's own sensuality, and her humour, but who must remain another of her secrets.

In The Mint Lawn, Gillian Mears has written a wonderful debut novel which will be read with pleasure and remembered with joy.

'Gillian Mears writes like an angel.' - Kate Veitch, The Age

'. powerful and beautifully balanced.' - Katharine England, Adelaide Advertiser

Author bio:

Gillian Mears grew up in the northern New South Wales town of Grafton. Acclaim came early, with her short-story collections and novels winning major prizes. Her first novel, The Mint Lawn (1991), won the 1990 The Australian/Vogel's Literary Award. Gillian's books include Ride a Cock Horse (1988), The Grass Sister (1995) and A Map of the Gardens (2002), which won the 2003 Steele Rudd Australian Short Story Award.

Her eagerly awaited third novel, Foal's Bread, was published by Allen & Unwin in 2011. It won The Prime Minister's Award for Fiction, The Age Book of the Year for Fiction and the ALS Gold Medal, all awarded in 2012. It was shortlisted for The Indie Awards (2012), the Barbara Jefferis Award (2012), the Miles Franklin Literary Award (2012) and the ABIA (Australian Book Industry Awards) Book of the Year (2012). Her children's story, The Cat With the Coloured Tail, was published by Walker Books Australia.

Gillian died at home in Grafton on 16 May 2016. She is sorely missed and remembered with loving gratitude.

Category: Fiction
ISBN: 9781742379333
Awards: Short-listed Commonwealth Writers Prize, Best Book in the South East Asia and South Pacific Region 1992 GB
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Imprint: Allen & Unwin
Pub Date: November 2011
Page Extent: 420
Format: Paperback - B format
Age: 0 - 0
Subject: Fiction & related items

AustralianVogels2023 380  590 px

Reading Groups

It's a great time to be in a reading group! Discover new titles and books you might not normally pick up and buy, or re-examine books you already know and love. You can make your reading experience richer and more rewarding by being a member of a reading group and meeting others who are interested in sharing their reading experience. ... find out more

For the latest Reading Group Notes, news and competitions subscribe here