What Could Be Saved

Liese O'Halloran Schwarz
AUD $29.99
9781760879266.jpg
Availability: Not Yet Published

An enthralling, redemptive novel set in Bangkok in 1972 and Washington, DC in 2019 about an expatriate child who goes missing, whose family is contacted decades later by a man claiming to be the vanished boy.

'A harrowing tale of the lies of omission and the lies of commission that can break a family apart, What Could Be Saved is a delicious hybrid of mystery, drama, and elegance: rich with detail, lush in language, and capable of keeping you on the edge of your seat.' - Jodi Picoult

Rich with mystery and family drama, this compelling novel delves into the extraordinary power of sibling love, rivalry and loyalty.

Laura Preston is a reclusive artist at odds with her older sister Bea as their elegant, formidable mother slowly slides into dementia. When a stranger contacts Laura claiming to be her brother who disappeared forty years earlier when the family lived in Bangkok, Laura ignores Bea's warnings of a scam and flies to Thailand to see if it can be true. But meeting him in person leads to more questions than answers.

Alternating between past and present as all of the secrets are revealed, What Could Be Saved is an unforgettable novel about a family shattered by loss and betrayal, and the beauty that can exist even in the midst of brokenness.

'…a remarkable storyteller, juggling many characters, and the seamless alternating chapters narrated by Laura and a servant from the Preston's house in Bangkok gradually deepen the reader's understanding of the past and present. Schwarz's stellar work is riveting.' - Publisher's Weekly, starred review

'Exquisite and memorable writing' - Lisa See, New York Times bestselling author of The Island of Sea Women


'A suspenseful mystery with ever-darkening twists for fans of A Little Life and The Goldfinch.' - People Magazine

Author bio:

Liese O'Halloran Schwarz currently lives in North Carolina, USA. She grew up in Washington DC after an early childhood lived overseas. She is an emergency medicine doctor and is also a much-praised author of two previous novels, Near Canaan and The Possible World.

Category: Fiction
ISBN: 9781760879266
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Imprint: Allen & Unwin
Pub Date: February 2021
Page Extent: 464
Format: Paperback - C format

Read the opening chapters:

What Could Be Saved Chapter... by Allen & Unwin

2022-Vogel-rectangle-tile

Reading Groups

It's a great time to be in a reading group! Discover new titles and books you might not normally pick up and buy, or re-examine books you already know and love. You can make your reading experience richer and more rewarding by being a member of a reading group and meeting others who are interested in sharing their reading experience. ... find out more

For the latest Reading Group Notes, news and competitions subscribe here