You Should Have Known

Jean Hanff Korelitz
AUD $39.99
No image set
Availability: Out of print

A smart, addictive and psychologically acute novel about what we think we know, what we should have known, and what we choose to ignore

A smart, addictive and psychologically acute novel about what we think we know, what we should have known, and what we choose to ignore, for fans of Kate Atkinson, Gillian Flynn, Claire Messud and Louise Doughty.

'You knew right at the beginning. She knew he was never going to stop looking at other women. She knew he couldn't save money. She knew he was contemptuous of her. But then she somehow let herself un-know what she knew.'

Grace Sachs, a happily married therapist with a young son, thinks she knows everything about women, men and marriage. She is about to publish a book called You Should Have Known, based on her pet theory: women don't value their intuition about what men are really like, leading to serious trouble later on.

But how well does Grace know her own husband? She is about to find out, and in the place of what she thought she knew, there will be a violent death, a missing husband, and a chain of terrible revelations. Left behind in the wake of a very public disaster, and horrified by the ways in which she has failed to heed her own advice, Grace must dismantle one life and create another for herself and her child.

Author bio:

Jean Hanff Korelitz was born and raised in New York City and graduated from Dartmouth College and Clare College, Cambridge. She is the author of the novels A Jury Of Her Peers, The Sabbathday River, The White Rose and Admission, as well as Interference Powder, a novel for middle grade readers, and The Properties of Breath, a collection of poetry. A film version of Admission starring Tina Fey, Paul Rudd and Lily Tomlin was released in 2013.

Category: Fiction
ISBN: 9780571307517
Publisher: Faber
Imprint: Faber Fiction
Pub Date: April 2014
Page Extent: 448
Format: Book
Subject: Fiction & related items

2018-VOGELS-PROMO

Reading Groups

It's a great time to be in a reading group! Discover new titles and books you might not normally pick up and buy, or re-examine books you already know and love. You can make your reading experience richer and more rewarding by being a member of a reading group and meeting others who are interested in sharing their reading experience. ... find out more