Launch Code

Michael Ridpath
AUD $29.99
9781786496997.jpg
Availability: Not Yet Published

From the million-copy bestselling author, perfect for fans of Das Boot, The Hunt for Red October, Mark Dawson, Alan Furst and Mark Billingham.

November 1983: Three hundred feet beneath the Atlantic, submarine Lieutenant Bill Guth and his fellow officers suddenly receive the order they've long-dreaded - to launch their nuclear missiles in a retaliatory strike against the USSR. But in the unexpected chaos that follows, one person on board lies dead...

Norfolk, 2019: Bill Guth's annual family gathering is interrupted when a historian turns up unannounced to ask about the near-apocalyptic incident back in 1983. Bill refuses to answer. But that night, the historian is brutally murdered.

Bill and his family are thrown under suspicion. What happened all those years ago? Just how much is Bill to blame for events in the past, and indeed the present? As the layers of history reveal themselves, it becomes clear there is a killer at work who will stop at nothing to keep the secrets of 1983 where they belong...

Author bio:

Michael Ridpath spent eight years as a bond trader in the city before giving up his job to write full time. He lives in north London with his wife and three children. Visit his website at www.michaelridpath.com.

Category: Crime & Mystery
ISBN: 9781786496997
Publisher: Atlantic
Imprint: Corvus
Pub Date: December 2019
Page Extent: 400
Format: Paperback - C format
Subject: Crime & mystery

homepagepromo2-Faber2018