The Ex

Alafair Burke
AUD $19.99
9780571328161.jpg

Twenty years ago she ruined his life. Now she has the chance to save it.

In this breakout standalone thriller in the tradition of Gillian Flynn, William Landay and Paula Hawkins, a lawyer agrees to help an old boyfriend who has been accused of murder - but begins to suspect that she is the one being manipulated.

Widower Jack Harris has resisted the dating scene since the shooting of his wife by a fifteen-year-old boy three years ago. An early morning run along the Hudson River changes that when he spots a woman who eerily but thrillingly echoes his past. Eager to help Jack find love again, his best friend posts a 'Missed Moment' item online and days later, a woman responds...

Olivia Randall is one of New York City's best criminal defense lawyers. When she gets the phone call informing her that her former fiancee, Jack Harris, has been arrested for a triple homicide there is no doubt in her mind as to his innocence. The only question is who would go to such great lengths to frame him - and why?

For Olivia, representing Jack is a way to make up for past regrets, and the hurt she caused him, but as the evidence against him mounts, she is forced to confront her doubts. The man she knew could not have done this. But what if she never really knew him?

Author bio:

Alafair Burke's books include the standalone thrillers Long Gone and If You Were Here - an Amazon Best Mystery Novel of 2013 - and her acclaimed series starring NYPD Detective Ellie Hatcher, the most recent of which, Never Tell, was a Kindle bestseller. A former Deputy District Attorney in Portland, Oregon, Alafair is now a Professor of Law at Hofstra Law School, where she teaches criminal law and procedure.

Category: Crime & Mystery
ISBN: 9780571328161
Awards: Shortlisted Edgar Award for Best Novel 2017 USA
Publisher: Faber
Imprint: Faber Paperback
Pub Date: January 2017
Page Extent: 384
Format: Paperback - B format
Age: 0 - 0
Subject: Crime & mystery

homepagepromo2-Faber2018