We See the Stars

Kate van Hooft
AUD $29.99
9781760632526.jpg

A haunting and deeply moving novel with a brilliant voice in the tradition of The Eye of the Sheep and Jasper Jones.

'Mysterious, compelling and almost unbearably tender.' Danielle Wood, award-winning author of The Alphabet of Light and Dark

'Is that the Big Dipper?' Mum asked. Her eyes were bright from the light in them, and they shone in the darkness more than any of the stars in the sky.

Simon is an eleven-year-old boy who lives in a world of silence, lists and numbers. He hasn't spoken for years and he doesn't know why.

Everyone at school thinks he's weird and his only friends in the world are his brother Davey and Superman, who's always there when he needs him.

One day Simon shares his Vita-Weats with Cassie, the scary girl from his class, and a friendship starts to form. And the new teacher Ms Hilcombe takes an interest in him, and suddenly he has another friend as well.

When Ms Hilcombe goes missing, only Simon knows where she is. But he has made a promise to never tell, and promises can never be broken. So now Simon is the only one who can save her.

A haunting and deeply moving novel with a brilliant voice in the tradition of The Eye of the Sheep and Jasper Jones.

Author bio:

Kate van Hooft was born and raised in Melbourne to an Aussie mum and Dutch dad. She lives with her husband Paul Carter, also a writer.

Kate has a BA in Creative Writing from Melbourne Uni, a Master of Communications from Deakin, and is now completing a Master of Social Work. She has worked for more than ten years in student wellbeing and disability support in tertiary education. Kate is currently working as a disability advisor at Swinburne, while finishing her studies and writing. As a professional in the disability and education sector, Kate has become passionate about youth mental health and the way children, in particular, are 'pathologised before they are listened to'. We See the Stars is her first novel.

Category: Crime & Mystery
ISBN: 9781760632526
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Imprint: Allen & Unwin
Pub Date: July 2018
Page Extent: 336
Format: Paperback - C format
Subject: Crime & mystery

Read the opening chapters:

We See the Stars Chapter Sampler by Allen & Unwin on Scribd

Reading Group Notes

homepagepromo2-Faber2018