Red Earth and Pouring Rain

Vikram Chandra
AUD $19.99
9780571234493.jpg
Availability: Not available to order from this website, please try another retailer

A work of vivid imagination and a celebration of the power of storytelling.

The gods of poetry and death descend on a house in India to vie for the soul of a wounded monkey. A bargain is struck: the monkey must tell a story, and if he can keep his audience entertained, he shall live. The result is Red Earth and Pouring Rain, Vikram Chandra's astonishing, vibrant novel. Interweaving tales of nineteenth-century India with modern America, it stands in the tradition of The Thousand and One Nights, a work of vivid imagination and a celebration of the power of storytelling itself.

Author bio:

Vikram Chandra was born in New Delhi. His first novel, Red Earth and Pouring Rain won the Commonwealth Writers Prize for Best First Book. Love and Longing in Bombay won the Commonwealth Writers Prize for Best Book (Eurasia region) and was shortlisted for the Guardian Fiction Prize. Vikram currently divides his time between Mumbai and Berkeley, where he lives with his wife and teaches at the University of California. His work has been translated into eleven languages.

Category: Literary fiction
ISBN: 9780571234493
Edition No: 1
Publisher: Faber
Imprint: Faber Paperback
Pub Date: September 2007
Page Extent: 528
Format: Paperback - B format
Age: 0 - 0
Subject: Literary fiction

homepagepromo2-Faber2018