The Country Girls Trilogy

The Country Girls; The Lonely Girl; Girls in their Married Bliss

Edna O'Brien, foreword by Eimear McBride
AUD $24.99

A new edition of Edna O'Brien's stunning first three novels: The Country Girls and its sequels, The Lonely Girl and Girls in their Married Bliss, changed the temperature of Irish literature in the 1960s and inspired generation after generation of readers and writers. The passion, artistry and courage of Edna O'Brien's vision in these three novels continue to resonate into the twenty-first century.

The trilogy follows the lives of Kate Brady and her friend Baba Brennan from the confines of a convent school in the Irish countryside to the bright lights of Dublin, and on to the unexpected challenges of married life in London.

These are novels about innocence and youth, love and passion, dreams and reality.

Author bio:

Since her debut novel The Country Girls Edna O'Brien has written over twenty works of fiction along with a biography of James Joyce and Lord Byron. She is the recipient of many awards including the Irish Pen Lifetime Achievement Award, the American National Art's Gold Medal and the Ulysses Medal.

Born and raised in the west of Ireland she has lived in London for many years.

Category: Literary fiction
ISBN: 9780571330539
Publisher: Faber
Imprint: Faber Paperback
Pub Date: September 2017
Page Extent: 704
Format: Paperback - B format
Subject: Literary fiction