A Mother's War

Mollie Walton
AUD $39.99
9781787399402.jpg
Availability: Not available to order from this website, please try another retailer

Set in North Yorkshire, A Mother's War tells the story of a widow and her five daughters at the outbreak of WW2.

North Yorkshire, September 1939.

Rosina Calvert-Lazenby, the only surviving member of her family and widowed by forty-four, has lived at Raven Hall all her life. With war approaching, Rosina must be strong for her daughters, five confident young women who are thick as thieves.

When the RAF come to stay at Raven Hall, Rosina finds herself intrigued by their charismatic, albeit young, officer. But is there time for love with the war looming and her eldest daughter leaving home?

Grace Calvert-Lazenby, twenty-one years old and newly graduated from Oxford, is determined to live a fuller life. Leaving behind her mother and sisters at home, she joins the Women's Royal Naval Service.

Trading the safety and familiarity of Raven Hall for exhausting drills, difficult training and conflicting acts of secrecy will not be easy. But Grace knows that everyone has a part to play in the war and she is ready for a brave new adventure.

With so much on the line, Rosina and Grace must learn how to push themselves and have the courage to lead those around them into the unknown . . .

This heartwarming, dramatic World War II saga is perfect for fans of Vicki Beeby, Kate Thompson and Rosie Clarke.
___________

Praise for Mollie Walton:

'A Journey. Compelling. Addictive' Val Wood

'Beautiful and poignant' Tania Crosse

'Feisty female characters, an atmospheric setting ... A phenomenal read' Cathy Bramley

'Great characters who will stay with me for a long time' Beth Miller

'Evocative, dramatic and hugely compelling. I loved it' Miranda Dickinson

Author bio:

Mollie Walton is the pen-name for historical novelist Rebecca Mascull. She has always been fascinated by history and has worked in education, has a Masters in Writing and lives by the sea in the East of England. The inspiration for the Raven Hall trilogy came when she visited the stunning Raven Hall hotel with her daughter and fell in love with the beautiful cliff-top view. Under Mollie Walton, Rebecca is also the author of the historical fiction trilogy, the Ironbridge Saga.

Category: Popular fiction
ISBN: 9781787399402
Publisher: Welbeck
Imprint: Welbeck
Pub Date: May 2022
Page Extent: 400
Format: Book
Subject: Historical fiction