House of the Eagle

Book One of the Ptolemies Quartet

Duncan Sprott
AUD $24.95
Availability: Not available to order from this website, please try another retailer

The first volume of The Ptolemies Quartet, The House of the Eagle is a triumph of historical salvage that brings back to life the most bizarre family that ever existed.

The House of the Eagle begins Duncan Sprott's Ptolemies Quartet, an epic story of the Greek Pharaohs of Egypt, whose extraordinary dynasty spans twelve generations from the death of Alexander the Great to the fall of Cleopatra.

Narrated by Thoth, the ibis-headed Egyptian God of writing and wisdom, The House of the Eagle chronicles the golden years of the first three Ptolemies - the shrewd Ptolemy Soter, the luxury-loving Ptolemy Philadelphus, the empire-building Ptolemy Euergets - and their tragic queens, pampered mistresses and turbulent children. Very soon their public triumph is marred by tragedy as the dynasty embarks on a rampage of matricide, infanticide, conquest and murder . . .

Author bio:

Duncan Sprott was born in 1952. He is the author of 1784, The Clapton Hercules, Our Lady of the Potatoes and The House of the Eagle: Book One of the Ptolemies Quartet and Daughter of the Crocodile: Book Two of the Ptolemies Quartet . He lives in Ireland.

Category: Popular fiction
ISBN: 9780571219179
Edition No: 1
Publisher: Faber
Imprint: Faber Paperback
Pub Date: July 2005
Page Extent: 480
Format: Paperback - B format
Age: 0 - 0
Subject: Historical fiction