Lily's War

Shirley Mann
AUD $22.99
9781785769375.jpg
Availability: Not available to order from this website, please try another retailer

The country's biggest challenge could be her greatest chance.

An uplifting and inspiring World War II saga for readers of Nancy Revell and Annie Groves.

It's 1942 and World War Two is in full swing. In Manchester, Lily Mullins is determined to do her bit for the war effort. Her friends and her sweetheart have all joined up and Lily's sure there must be a role for her that goes further than knitting socks for the troops!

Lily has always dreamed of flying, so she jumps at the chance to become a WAAF and soon discovers that she has a talent as a wireless operator. Helped along the way by a gang of girls - all from different walks of life, but forging an unbreakable bond of friendship in the most testing times - Lily find strengths she didn't know existed and realises that the safety of the country might just be in her hands . . .

Meanwhile, Danny is determined to marry Lily, but his letters home become more and more distant. Will a long separation mean the end of their love story?

Author bio:

Shirley Mann is a Derbyshire-based journalist who spent most of her career at the BBC. She now makes short films for organisations such as the Heritage Lottery Fund. Lily's War is inspired by Shirley's mother who was a WAAF and her father who was in the Eighth Army.

Category: Popular fiction
ISBN: 9781785769375
Publisher: Bonnier
Imprint: Zaffre
Pub Date: March 2020
Page Extent: 432
Format: Paperback - B format
Subject: Romance

homepagepromo2-Faber2018