Second Chances

Charity Norman
AUD $24.99
9781742379579.jpg
Availability: Out of print

A rich and warm novel of family, divided loyalties and complicated relationships - for readers who love Jodi Picoult or Caroline Overington.

In the quiet of a winter's night, the rescue helicopter is sent to airlift a five-year-old boy with severe internal injuries. He's fallen from the upstairs verandah of an isolated farmhouse, and may not last the next few hours.

At first, Finn's fall looks like a horrible accident; after all, he's prone to sleepwalking. Only his frantic mother, Martha McNamara, knows how it really happened. And she isn't telling. Not yet. Maybe not ever.

Martha only wants the best for her family. That's why she moved heaven and earth to move them to the other side of the world, to start their lives afresh. And now she's faced with decisions she never dreamed she'd have to make, decisions with potentially devastating consequences. She's torn between her loyalty to her family and her need to protect them.

What do you do when your dream escape turns into a nightmare - and is there ever a way back?

Gripping, emotional and intelligent, this is a book you won't be able to put down.

Praise for Freeing Grace: 'An absorbing examination of fraught family dynamics and complex social issues.will appeal to devotees of Joanna Trollope and Jodi Picoult. Charity Norman has put down the clearest of markers that she is hot on their heels.' Daily Mail

Author bio:

Charity Norman was born in Uganda and brought up in successive draughty vicarages in Yorkshire and Birmingham. After several years' travel she became a barrister, specialising in crime and family law in the northeast of England. Also a mediator, she is passionate about the power of communication to slice through the knots. In 2002, realising that her three children had barely met her, she took a break from the law and moved with her family to New Zealand. Her first novel, Freeing Grace, was published by Allen & Unwin in 2010.

Category: Popular fiction
ISBN: 9781742379579
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Imprint: Allen & Unwin
Pub Date: July 2012
Page Extent: 368
Format: Paperback - C format
Subject: Popular fiction

homepage promo2-FABER