Eileen Myles
AUD $29.99
Availability: Temporarily unavailable from this website, please try another retailer

A searing new collection of Eileen Myles' acclaimed poetry.

Evolution - the first all-new collection of poems by Eileen Myles since the selected volume I Must Be Living Twice - finds the celebrated writer at the forefront of American literature and culture, crafting radically introspective work in the characteristically exuberant style that the New York Times called 'one of the essential voices in American poetry.'

Following the critically acclaimed Afterglow (a dog memoir), the poet continues their lifelong inquiry into the mystery and miracle of human life, in its mutability and temporality. 'I suppose / I'm afraid / of forever,' Myles writes in 'Angel', and this existential restlessness pervades the collection. With incisive humour and heartfelt honesty, these poems reconcile the body's brevity in light of time's limitlessness, exemplified in the title piece, 'Evolution'.

Author bio:

Eileen Myles is the author of more than twenty books, including Chelsea Girls, Cool for You, and most recently, Afterglow: a dog memoir. Their many honours include a Guggenheim Fellowship in nonfiction, four Lambda Literary Awards, the Clark Prize for Excellence in Art Writing, the Shelley Memorial Award from the Poetry Society of America, and their poems were featured in seasons two and three of the Emmy-winning show Transparent. They live in Marfa, Texas, and New York City.

Category: Poetry
ISBN: 9781611854978
Publisher: Atlantic
Imprint: Grove Press
Pub Date: December 2018
Page Extent: 240
Format: Hard Cover
Subject: Poetry