The Good Nurse

A True Story of Medicine, Madness and Murder

Charles Graeber
AUD $22.99
9781782393498.jpg

The true story of the most prolific serial killer in US history, The Good Nurse is 'a stunning book. that should and does bring to mind In Cold Blood'. - New York Times

After his December 2003 arrest, registered nurse Charlie Cullen was quickly dubbed 'The Angel of Death' by the media. But Cullen was no mercy killer, nor was he a simple monster. He was a favourite son, husband, beloved father, best friend, and celebrated caregiver. Implicated in the deaths of as many as 300 patients, he was also perhaps the most prolific serial killer in American history. Cullen's murderous career in the world's most trusted profession spanned sixteen years and nine hospitals across New Jersey and Pennsylvania.

Investigative journalist Charles Graeber's portrait of Cullen depicts a surprisingly intelligent and complicated young man whose promising career was overwhelmed by his compulsion to kill, and whose shy demeanor masked a twisted interior life hidden even to his family and friends. Were it not for the hardboiled, unrelenting work of two former Newark homicide detectives racing to put together the pieces of Cullen's professional past, and a fellow nurse willing to put everything at risk, including her job and the safety of her children, there's no telling how many more lives could have been lost.

In the tradition of In Cold Blood, The Good Nurse does more than chronicle Cullen's deadly career and the breathless efforts to stop him; it paints an incredibly vivid portrait of madness and offers an urgent, terrifying tale of murder, friendship and betrayal.

Author bio:

Charles Graeber is an award winning journalist and contributor to numerous publications including Wired, GQ, The New Yorker, New York Magazine, Vogue and the New York Times. Born in Iowa, he now lives in Nantucket, MA and Brooklyn, New York.

Category: True Crime
ISBN: 9781782393498
Publisher: Atlantic
Imprint: Atlantic PBS
Pub Date: September 2014
Page Extent: 320
Format: Paperback - B format
Age: 0 - 0
Subject: True crime

homepagepromo2-Faber2018