An Alice Girl

Tanya Heaslip
AUD $32.99
9781760529772.jpg
Availability: Not Yet Published

From the bestselling author of From Alice to Prague, for fans of Toni Tapp Coutts' A Sunburnt Childhood and Mary Groves' An Outback Life, comes Tanya Heaslip's extraordinary story of growing up with her sister and brothers in the late 1960s and early 70s on an outback cattle property just north of Alice Springs.

We could shout into the hills and hear our voices echo back to us. We could lie on our backs at night and imagine the sky of stars swallowing us whole. We could die out here under the savage summer sun and our bones would turn white and dissolve in the dry winds. Nobody would ever know we'd been there. We thought that was kind of exciting.

An Alice Girl is Tanya Heaslip's extraordinary story of growing up in the late 1960s and early 70s on a vast and isolated outback cattle property just north of Alice Springs.

Tanya's parents, Janice and Grant 'the Boss', were pioneers. They developed the cattle station where water was scarce, where all power was dependent on generators and where a trip to town for supplies usually meant a full day's journey. Grant was determined to teach his children how to survive in this severe and isolated environment and his lessons were often harsh.

Tanya and her siblings led a childhood unimaginable to many Australians. Whether working the mobs of cattle with the stockmen, playing cattle-duffing on horseback or singing and doing lessons at their School of the Air desks, the children were always aware of the demands of the land.

But while her sister and brothers loved riding and working stock, Tanya's heart longed to be back at the homestead with her books and stories.

In a childhood that most would consider very tough, Tanya tells of this precious time with raw honesty, humour, love and kindness. This is the story of an Alice girl.

'Tanya Heaslip lived the outback childhood of Australian mythology. Stories like this remind us that love of place is universal.'
Kim Mahood, NSW Premier's Prize, The Age Prize and the Dobbie award winner for Craft for a Dry Lake

'A story of love for Tanya's rugged, wild outback land that never leaves her heart.'
Toni Tapp Coutts, bestselling author of A Sunburnt Childhood and My Outback Life

'Territory station kids like Tanya had the ultimate upbringing.'
Ted Egan, bestselling author of Outback Songman

Author bio:

Tanya Heaslip was born on a cattle station in outback Australia at the height of the Cold War. She grew up to study and then practice Law. In 1989 she travelled to Europe for the first time and in 1994 she moved to the Czech Republic where she taught English for two and a half years. Tanya's first memoir, From Alice to Prague, was published to acclaim in 2019.

Tanya now lives in the Northern Territory with her husband.

Category: Other books
ISBN: 9781760529772
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Imprint: Allen & Unwin
Pub Date: May 2020
Page Extent: 344
Format: Paperback - C format
Subject: Biography & True Stories

homepagepromo2-Faber2018