We Learnt About Hitler at the Mickey Mouse Club

A Childhood on the Eve of War

Enid Elliott Linder
AUD $19.99
9781785786099.jpg
Availability: Not Yet Published

For fans of Call the Midwife, a unique autobiography of a 1930s London childhood.

Enid Elliot Linder was the daughter of a butler and a lady's maid in service in some of England's grandest country houses. 

Evoking the lost world of a childhood 'below stairs', Linder's touching memoir describes how her life changed as Britain headed towards war.
 

After the family moved to a Marylebone tenement, her father sought work in London restaurants whilst battling personal demons. Meanwhile Linder's aunt was nanny to a high-ranking member of the British Union of Fascists as they grew in influence.
 

In a photorealistic and immensely charming narrative reminiscent of Patrick Hamilton, Linder evokes the sights and smells of prewar London - and of lonely Cornwall, to where she was unhappily evacuated - in a way that will appeal to fans of Call The Midwife or Downton Abbey. A unique personal account of a tumultuous time.

Author bio:

Enid Elliott Linder, who died in 2007, was an artist specialising in silhouette drawings.
She left her memoir to her niece Elaine Cox, a lecturer at Oxford Brookes, who promised to assure its publication.

Category: Other books
ISBN: 9781785786099
Publisher: Icon Books
Imprint: Icon
Pub Date: March 2021
Page Extent: 288
Format: Paperback - B format
Subject: British & Irish history

homepagepromo2-Faber2018