CBCA Book of the Year Awards 2017

We are excited to announce that the notables for the Children's Book Council of Australia Book of the Year Awards have been announced and thirty-one of our books have been selected!

 

BOOK OF THE YEAR: OLDER READERS
Ocean of the Dead by Andrew McGahan
The Stars at Oktober Bend by Glenda Millard
Forgetting Foster by Dianne Touchell

BOOK OF THE YEAR: YOUNGER READERS
Blueberry Pancakes Forever by Angelica Banks
Rockhopping by Trace Balla
Freedom Swimmer by Wai Chim
The Family with Two Front Doors by Anna Ciddor
The Pearl-Shell Diver by Kay Crabbe
Wicked’s Way by Anna Fienberg
A Most Magical Girl by Karen Foxlee
Fizz and the Police Dog Tryouts by Lesley Gibbes and Stephen Michael King
The Fail Safe by Jack Heath
The Unforgettable What’s His Name by Paul Jennings and Craig Smith
Theophilus Grey and the Traitor’s Mask by Catherine Jinks
When the Lyrebird Calls by Kim Kane
Dragonfly Song by Wendy Orr
Artie and the Grime Wave by Richard Roxburgh
Captain Jimmy Cook Discovers Third Grade by Kate Temple, Jol Temple and John Foye

BOOK OF THE YEAR: EARLY CHILDHOOD
Zelda’s Big Adventure by Marie Alafaci, illustrated by Shane McGowan
Go Home, Cheeky Animals! by Johanna Bell, illustrated by Dion Beasley
The Snow Wombat by Susannah Chambers, illustrated by Mark Jackson
Bear Make Den by Jane Godwin and Michael Wagner, illustrated by Andrew Joyner

PICTURE BOOK OF THE YEAR
The Sisters Saint-Claire by Carlie Gibson, illustrated by Tamsin Ainslie
Hattie Helps Out by Jane Godwin and Davina Bell, illustrated by Freya Blackwood
On the River by Roland Harvey
Mr Chicken Arriva a Roma by Leigh Hobbs
Milo: A Moving Story by Tohby Riddle
Small Things by Mel Tregonning

EVE POWNALL AWARD FOR INFORMATION BOOKS
Boomerang and Bat by Mark Greenwood, illustrated by Terry Denton
Fabish: The Horse that Braved a Bushfire by Neridah McMullin, illustrated by Andrew McLean

The Children's Book Council of Australia is a not for profit organisation that aims to engage the community with literature for young Australians. The annual awards have been running since 1946 and are Australia's most prestigious awards for children's books.

See the full list here

When the Lyrebird Calls

by Kim Kane

A time-slip novel in which Madeleine finds herself transported back to 1900 Australia, where she befriends a family of girls and is witness to a family secret and a family tragedy.

More details

The Unforgettable What's His Name

by Paul Jennings, illustrated by Craig Smith

Now you see him, now you don't - an action-packed adventure about a boy who just wants to blend in, from a bestselling author/illustrator team.

More details

The Sisters Saint-Claire

by Carlie Gibson

Beautifully illustrated, this delightful rhyming tale about five gourmand mouse sisters who go to market and the youngest sister, Cecile, who sets up her very own delicious pie stall with food fit for a Queen is suitable for readers of Ruby Red Shoes.

More details

Artie and the Grime Wave

by Richard Roxburgh

A fabulously funny madcap adventure from the multi-talented actor, director and writer Richard Roxburgh, now writing and illustrating books for children.

More details

A Most Magical Girl

by Karen Foxlee

Magical machines, wizards, witches, mysterious underworlds, a race against time - and two most magical girls

More details

The Fail Safe

by Jack Heath

Fourteen-year-old Fero doesn't know who to trust - the country that turned him into a boy soldier or the one that turned him into a spy - in this chase to stop a nuclear war. An action thriller suitable for readers of Cherub or The Last Thirteen.

More details

Small Things

by Mel Tregonning

A stunning graphic novel from an extraordinarily talented illustrator. On the cusp of having everything slip from his grasp, a young boy has to find a way to rebuild his sense of self.

More details

Mr Chicken Arriva a Roma

by Leigh Hobbs

Mr Chicken has been to Paris and London, but his taste for travel is insatiable - now it's time to visit Rome, a city of ancient wonders and delicious things to eat. From the hilarious mind of the 2016-2017 Australian Children's Laureate.

More details

Freedom Swimmer

by Wai Chim

This incredible tale about two boys' swim from mainland China to Hong Kong in search of freedom from poverty and oppression is inspired by a true story.

More details

The Ocean of the Dead: Ship Kings 4

by Andrew McGahan

The cataclysmic final book in the Ship Kings series. In search of a new world, Dow and Nell must face the final frontier - the treacherous Doldrums. Their journey will be filled with wonders; the rewards could be great - but the cost might be everything, for there are good reasons why none who have sailed the Ocean of the Dead have returned to tell the tale.

More details

Zelda's Big Adventure

by Marie Alafaci, illustrated by Shane McGowan

A very funny story with an endearing and resourceful main character determined to live her dream of being the first chook in space.

More details

Fabish: The Horse that Braved a Bushfire

by Neridah McMullin and Andrew McLean

A powerful and beautifully illustrated picture book based on the true story of a brave horse called Fabish, who saved a group of young horses during the Black Saturday bushfires.

More details

On the River

by Roland Harvey

Follow the mighty Murray River from the mountains to the sea on an epic journey with Roland Harvey and his pelican friend, in this glorious picture book full of humorous, intricate illustrations and fascinating information.

More details

Dragonfly Song

by Wendy Orr

Abandoned by the priestess of the island at birth, Aissa is an outcast, surviving by her wits - until she joins the acrobatic bull dancers who are sent away to compete on the island of the Bull King. A gripping and powerful adventure by acclaimed author Wendy Orr.

More details

Forgetting Foster

by Dianne Touchell

The powerful story of a young boy whose father develops Alzheimer's disease, from the highly acclaimed author of A Small Madness.

More details

Fizz and the Police Dog Tryouts: Fizz 1

by Lesley Gibbes, illustrated by Stephen Michael King

In Book One of this hilarious and action-packed series for newly confident readers, Fizz is determined to go to the Police Dog Tryouts and prove that he can do the job. But he is the smallest, whitest, fluffiest dog in the long queue.

More details

Blueberry Pancakes Forever

by Angelica Banks

Dealing with a terrible loss at home and faced with unknown danger in the world of story, Tuesday McGillycuddy has to muster all her resources to survive her most challenging adventure yet.

More details

The Snow Wombat

by Susannah Chambers, illustrated by Mark Jackson

An adventurous young wombat finds his way around a winter landscape before snuggling back into his own cosy burrow.

More details

Go Home, Cheeky Animals!

by Johanna Bell, illustrated by Dion Beasley

In this lively follow-up to Too Many Cheeky Dogs, the camp is invaded by all kinds of cheeky feral animals who are finally chased away by the resident cheeky dogs.

More details

Captain Jimmy Cook Discovers Third Grade

by Kate Temple and Jol Temple, illustrated by Jon Foye

Jimmy Cook is finding History Week a bit boring until Ms Fennel starts banging on about Captain Cook. Then - bingo! Turns out he and Captain Cook have a lot in common. Here are three of the big ones: they are both named James Cook; they are both great explorers; and they both look great in a tricorn hat. Funny fiction for those who love Tom Gates and Timmy Failure.

More details

Boomerang and Bat

by Mark Greenwood, illustrated by Terry Denton

The first Australian cricket team to tour England was a group of Aboriginal stockmen. This is their story.

More details

The Pearl-shell Diver: A Story of adventure from the Torres Strait

by Kay Crabbe

Engaging and authentic historical fiction about one boy from the Torres Strait trying to work his way up in the pearl-shell industry.

More details

Milo

by Tohby Riddle

A sweet and funny story about a city-dwelling dog, a day when everything goes wrong, a curious rescue and a surprising gift.

More details

Rockhopping

by Trace Balla

The story of an eventful hike in Gariwerd (the Grampians), from the creator of the multi-award-winning Rivertime.

More details

Theophilus Grey and the Traitor's Mask

by Catherine Jinks

The companion novel to Theophilus Grey and the Demon Thief is a fast-paced adventure as Philo graduates from petty fraud and street crime to high-level political espionage.

More details

Hattie Helps Out

by Jane Godwin and Davina Bell, illustrated by Freya Blackwood

Hattie is the perfect helper. Or so she thinks! An endearing picture book that any child - and parent - will relate to.

More details

The Family with Two Front Doors

by Anna Ciddor

This warm and engaging story, inspired by the author's own family, offers a glimpse into a life rich with tradition, celebration and love.

More details

Wicked's Way

by Anna Fienberg

Anna Fienberg's fabulous new high-seas pirate adventure, with scoundrels and blaggards, devilish treachery, and pirates who long for a bit of comfort - great reading for 8 to 12 year olds from the world of Horrendo's Curse.

More details

The Stars at Oktober Bend

by Glenda Millard

A powerful, captivating story about Alice, who is reaching out to express herself through her beautiful-broken words, and Manny who is running to escape his past. When they meet they find the tender beginnings of love and healing.

More details

Bear Make Den

by Jane Godwin and Michael Wagner, illustrated by Andrew Joyner

Bear is great with his hands, but not so smart when it comes to relationships. If he fixes up his den, will everything else follow?

More details

2018-VOGELS-PROMO

homepage promo2-FABER