The Museum of Modern Love shortlisted for the 2017 Stella Prize!

The Stella Prize is presented for the best work of fiction or nonfiction by an Australian women published in the previous calendar year. The prize is named after Miles Franklin, whose first name was Stella, and was inspired by the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction. Last year's prize was awarded to our very own Charlotte Wood, for her incendiary novel The Natural Way of Things.

Today, on International Women's Day, the shortlist for the 2017 Stella Prize has been revealed and we're delighted that Heather Rose has been nominated for The Museum of Modern Love, a dazzlingly original novel asks beguiling questions about the nature of art, life and love.

From the judges' report:

The characters are finely developed, and the question of what constitutes art is refracted through their experiences in ways that never seem contrived. This is an ambitious novel that demonstrates the value of art as a catalyst for love, connection, and an apprehension of mystery.

This year's prize is judged by author and academic Brenda Walker; author and literary critic Delia Falconer; bookseller Diana Johnston; editor and chair of First Nations Australia Writers' Network Sandra Phillips; and author and screenwriter Benjamin Law. The winner will be announced at a ceremony in Melbourne on 18 April.

To find out more about the Stella Prize and to see all longlisted books, visit

The Museum of Modern Love

by Heather Rose

Winner of the 2017 Stella Prize. A mesmerising literary novel about a lost man in search of connection - a meditation on love, art and commitment, set against the backdrop of one of the greatest art events in modern history, Marina Abramovic's The Artist is Present.

More details


homepage promo2-FABER