Kazuo Ishiguro wins the Nobel Prize in Literature 2017

Congratulations to Kazuo Ishiguro on winning the Nobel Prize in Literature for 2017!

Ishiguro was announced as the winner at the Swedish Academy in Stockholm on 5 October. The Swedish Academy said Ishiguro’s novels had ‘uncovered the abyss beneath our illusory sense of connection with the world’.

Sara Danius, permanent secretary of the Swedish Academy, described Ishiguro as a ‘truly exquisite’ writer. ‘If you mix Jane Austen and Franz Kafka, then you’ll get Kazuo Ishiguro in a nutshell. But you have to add a little bit of Marcel Proust into the mix, stir but not too much, and then you have his writing. At the same time, he’s a writer of great integrity, he doesn’t look to the side, he’s developed an aesthetic universe of his own.’

Books by Kazuo Ishiguro

Come Rain or Come Shine

Published: March 2019

In Kazuo Ishiguro's hands, a snapshot of domestic realism becomes a miniature masterpiece of memory and forgetting.

My Twentieth Century Evening and Other Small Breakthroughs

Published: January 2018

Delivered in Stockholm on 7 December 2017, My Twentieth Century Evening and Other Small Breakthroughs is the lecture of the Nobel Laureate in Literature, Kazuo Ishiguro.

The Remains of the Day (ANZ Nobel Prize hb edition)

Published: December 2017

In celebration of Kazuo Ishiguro winning the 2017 Nobel Prize in Literature: a special gift hardback edition of his 1989 Booker Prize-winning novel.

Never Let Me Go

Published: May 2017

Designed to meet the requirements for students at GCSE and A level, this accessible and stimulating new educational edition is intended equally for those studying independently, with a personal tutor, or in class. The guide covers: - the context of the novel and its author; - detailed examination of themes, characters and structure; - a close look the novel in the author's own words, and at different critical receptions; - glossaries and test questions designed to prompt deeper thinking.

An Artist of the Floating World

Published: November 2016

A special edition of Kazuo Ishiguo's classic novel to celebrate its 30th anniversary with a new introduction by the author.

The Buried Giant

Published: February 2016

There's a journey we must go on, and no more delay . . .

The Remains of the Day

Published: April 2015

Experience the wonder of the written word from some of the greatest writers of the modern age, with Faber Modern Classics. The Remains of the Day is Kazuo Ishiguro's best-loved Booker Prize-winning novel.

The Buried Giant Limited Edition

Published: March 2015

Slipcased limited edition of The Buried Giant: signed, numbered and with separate portfolio containing two facsimile pages of manuscript, also signed by Kazuo Ishiguro.

The Unconsoled

Published: February 2013

A haunting and utterly original novel in which a famous pianist confronts unresolved emotional aspects of his life.

An Artist of the Floating World

Published: January 2013

A Japanese artist looks back on his life in this celebrated and prize-winning novel.

When We Were Orphans

Published: January 2013

A novel of memory and loss, set between London of the 1930s and Shanghai between the wars.

Never Let Me Go

Published: August 2010

A story of love, friendship and memory.

The Remains of the Day

Published: August 2010

Winner 1989 Booker Prize: A tragic, spiritual portrait of a perfect English butler and his reaction to his fading insular world in post-war England.

A Pale View of Hills

Published: August 2010

Stunning new repackages to celebrate Ishiguro's popular backlist titles.


Published: April 2010

An exploration of love, need, and the ineluctable force of the past.