The 2018 Miles Franklin Literary Award longlist

The eleven books on the longlist for the 2018 Miles Franklin Literary Award have been announced and Allen & Unwin is delighted and proud to represent two of the books on the list!

Congratulations to Michelle de Kretser (The Life to Come) and Lia Hills (The Crying Place)! The Miles Franklin Literary Award is one of Australia's most prestigious literature prizes. Established through the will of My Brilliant Career author, Miles Franklin, the prize is awarded each year to a novel which is of the highest literary merit and presents Australian life in any of its phases.

“The authors named on this year’s longlist represent some of Australia’s most talented and provocative novelists. For more than 60 years, the Miles Franklin Literary Award has been supporting authors and helping to foster a uniquely Australian literature." Perpetual’s National Manager of Philanthropy, Caitriona Fay, commended the longlisted authors.

The shortlist will be announced in June and the winner of the Miles Franklin Literary Award in August of this year.

Find out more about the Miles Franklin Literary Award

The Life to Come

by Michelle de Kretser

The dazzling new novel from Michelle de Kretser, author of Questions of Travel, bestseller and winner of the Miles Franklin Award.

More details

The Crying Place

by Lia Hills

A stunning literary debut that takes the reader into the mysteries and truths that lie at the heart of our country.

More details