The 2018 CWA Dagger Awards


We are delighted to announce that the following authors have been recognised in the Crime Writers Association 2018 Dagger Awards.

Michael ConnellyDiamond Dagger: Michael Connelly

The Diamond Dagger is awarded each each to an author whose crime writing career has been marked by sustained excellence, and who has made a significant contribution to the genre.

Martin Edwards, Chair of the CWA, said: “Michael Connelly’s crime novels have won international acclaim for more than a quarter century, and have given readers, television viewers, and film fans rich entertainment. A combination of wonderful characters, vivid settings, and gripping storylines characterises his work. The CWA is delighted to celebrate his achievements with the award of the Diamond Dagger.”

Michael Connelly said: “This is truly exciting. How can a writer who writes about a guy trying make sense of things in Los Angeles ever expect to receive recognition from such a fine group from so far away? It’s beyond anything I could have imagined, and I am very honoured and humbled.”

The Ian Fleming Steel Dagger: Bluebird, Bluebird by Attica Locke

The Steel Dagger is awarded for Thrillers, and named after Ian Fleming who said there was one essential criterion for a good thriller, ‘one simply has to turn the pages’.

Historical Dagger: Nucleus by Rory Clements 

This award is for the best historical crime novel, set in any period up to 50 years prior to the year in which the award will be made.


Find out more and see all award winners on the CWA website.


Dark Sacred Night

by Michael Connelly

LAPD Detective Renee Ballard teams up with Harry Bosch in a new blockbuster crime thriller from the #1 bestselling author Michael Connelly.

More details

Bluebird, Bluebird

by Attica Locke

The first novel in a thrilling, timely new series Highway 59, about the cost of justice in the American South.

More details


by Rory Clements

The eve of war: a secret so deadly, nothing and no one is safe...The gripping new spy thriller from the bestselling author of Corpus.

More details