Ned Kelly Awards 2019 longlists

We are delighted to announce that the following books have been longlisted in the 2019 Ned Kelly Awards!

The categories are:

Best first fiction

  • The Yellow House by Emily O'Grady

Best Crime

  • The Spotted Dog by Kerry Greenwood
  • Scrublands by Chris Hammer

Best True Crime

  • Eggshell Skull by Bri Lee
  • Siege by Deborah Snow

The shortlists for each category will be announced ahead of the winners ceremony on Friday, 6th September at the BAD Sydney Crime Writers Festival. The rest of the longlists and more information can be found here.



The Spotted Dog

by Kerry Greenwood

Intrepid baker and erstwhile investigator Corinna Chapman returns triumphantly in her first adventure in seven years.

More details


by Chris Hammer

Set in a fictional Riverina town at the height of a devastating drought, Scrublands is one of the most powerful, compelling and original crime novels to be written in Australia.

More details

Eggshell Skull

by Bri Lee

'Scorching, self-scouring: a young woman finds her steel and learns to wield it' - Helen Garner

More details


by Deborah Snow

Hurtling towards its inevitable and tragic conclusion, Deborah Snow draws us into a vortex of police missteps, extraordinary bravery and profound grief to reveal what happened during that awful day.

More details