Ned Kelly Awards 2019 shortlists

We are delighted to announce that the following books have been shortlisted in the 2019 Ned Kelly Awards!

The categories are:

Best first fiction

  • The Yellow House by Emily O'Grady

Best Crime

  • The Spotted Dog by Kerry Greenwood

Best True Crime

  • Eggshell Skull by Bri Lee
  • Siege by Deborah Snow

The winners will be announced in September.

The rest of the shortlists and more information can be found here.


The Spotted Dog

by Kerry Greenwood

Intrepid baker and erstwhile investigator Corinna Chapman returns triumphantly in her first adventure in seven years.

More details

Eggshell Skull

by Bri Lee

'Scorching, self-scouring: a young woman finds her steel and learns to wield it' - Helen Garner

More details


by Deborah Snow

Hurtling towards its inevitable and tragic conclusion, Deborah Snow draws us into a vortex of police missteps, extraordinary bravery and profound grief to reveal what happened during that awful day.

More details