2020 CBCA Book of the Year ShortList Announced

The Children's Book Council of Australia Book of the Year Awards has announced this year's shortlist and we're delighted to announce that eight of our books have been selected!

BOOK OF THE YEAR: OLDER READERS
When the Ground is Hard by Malla Nunn
Four Dead Queens by Astrid Scholte

BOOK OF THE YEAR: YOUNGER READERS
The Dog Runner by Bren MacDibble  

BOOK OF THE YEAR: EARLY CHILDHOOD
One Runaway Rabbit by David Metzenthen, illustrated by Mairead Murphy
When Billy Was a Dog by Kirsty Murray, illustrated by Karen Blair
My Friend Fred by Frances Watts, illustrated by A. Yi
Goodbye House, Hello House by Margaret Wild, illustrated by Ann James

EVE POWNALL AWARD 
Yahoo Creek by Tohby Riddle

The Children's Book Council of Australia is a not for profit organisation that aims to engage the community with literature for young Australians. The annual awards have been running since 1946 and are Australia's most prestigious awards for children's books.

The CBCA Book of the Year winner and honour books will be announced on Friday 21 August.  

See the rest of the shortlist here

Goodbye House, Hello House

by Margaret Wild, illustrated by Ann James

A joyful story about moving house and embracing change from a much-loved, award-winning team.

More details

One Runaway Rabbit

by David Metzenthen, illustrated by Mairead Murphy

A stylish and satisfying picture book about a curious pet rabbit who accidentally escapes the safety of her backyard, and then must survive in the wilds of suburbia at night.

More details

When Billy Was a Dog

by Kirsty Murray, illustrated by Karen Blair

If you can't have a puppy, maybe the next best thing is to be a puppy.

More details

When the Ground is Hard

by Malla Nunn

This CBCA short-listed book is a stunning and heartrending mystery set in a Swaziland boarding school about two girls of different castes who bond over a shared copy of Jane Eyre.

More details

My Friend Fred

by Frances Watts, illustrated by A. Yi

This delightful CBCA short-listed picture book is about a friendship between an exuberant but loveable dachshund and his more retiring, tidy housemate.

More details

Four Dead Queens

by Astrid Scholte

A thrilling debut YA fantasy novel for fans of Red Queen and Three Dark Crowns.

More details

Yahoo Creek

by Tohby Riddle

Luminous images accompanied by newspaper extracts dating back to the early 1800s and words by Ngiyampaa Elder Peter Williams explore the ongoing mystery of yahoo encounters.

More details

The Dog Runner

by Bren MacDibble

From the author of the multi-award-winning and bestselling How to Bee comes an intense and thrilling new adventure.

More details

2021-vogels-Website-banner-380x590

homepagepromo2-Faber2018