The ABIA Winners 2020

In extremely exciting news, Allen & Unwin has been awarded Publisher of the Year at the Australian Book Industry Awards for the 14th time!

We are also delighted to announce that the following titles have won their categories in the ABIA Awards!

General Non-fiction Book of the Year:
Kitty Flanagan’s 488 Rules for Life by Kitty Flanagan

Matt Richell Award for New Writer of the Year:
Your Own Kind of Girl by Clare Bowditch

General Fiction Book of the Year:
Bruny by Heather Rose

Literary Fiction Book of the Year:
The Weekend by Charlotte Wood

To see all the categories and winners, visit here.

Your Own Kind of Girl

by Clare Bowditch

ARIA Award-winning singer and actress Clare Bowditch confronts her inner critic in this no-holds-barred memoir.

More details

The Weekend

by Charlotte Wood

The brilliant new novel from Charlotte Wood, acclaimed author of The Natural Way of Things.

More details

Kitty Flanagan's 488 Rules for Life

by Kitty Flanagan

488 Rules for Life is Kitty Flanagan's way of making the world a more pleasant place to live. Providing you with the antidote to every annoying little thing, these rules are not made to be broken.

More details


by Heather Rose

The brilliant and explosive new novel from the author of the award-winning The Museum of Modern Love.

More details