The 2021 Walkley Book Award longlist

We are delighted to announce that the following books have been longlisted for the 2021 Walkley Book Award!

Lowitja by Stuart Rintoul

The Carbon Club by Marian Wilkinson

Three shortlisted finalists will be announced in December.

The winner of the Walkley Book Award will be announced as part of the 66th Walkley Awards for Excellence in Journalism on February 11.

The rest of the longlist and more information can be found here.


by Stuart Rintoul

The profoundly moving biography of a truly great Australian who, against the greatest of odds, became one of Australia's most respected and recognisable Indigenous leaders.

More details

The Carbon Club

by Marian Wilkinson

The inside story of how a network of influential climate sceptics, politicians and business leaders fought to control Australia's response to the climate crisis.

More details