The 2015 Miles Franklin Literary Award longlist

The longlist for this year's Miles Franklin Literary Award has been announced and we are absolutely delighted to reveal that two Allen & Unwin authors have been recognised: Sofie Laguna for The Eye of the Sheep, and Christine Piper for After Darkness.

The Miles Franklin Literary Award is regarded as Australia's most prestigious literature prize and was established through the will of My Brilliant Career author, Miles Franklin. First awarded in 1957, the prize is awarded each year to the novel which is of the highest literary merit and presents Australian life in any of its phases. The final shortlist will be announced in May with the overall winner to be revealed on 23 June.

See the full longlist

Find out more about the Miles Franklin Award

The Eye of the Sheep

by Sofie Laguna

Told from the mesmerising point of view and in the inimitable voice of Jimmy, this is an extraordinary novel about a poor family who is struggling to cope with a different and difficult child.

More details

After Darkness

by Christine Piper

Winner of The 2014 Australian/Vogel's Literary Award.

More details