Getting started: Kathryn Heyman's tips for writers

0 Heyman KathrynYou've always wanted to write a novel. Yet every time to sit down to write it, you are distracted by an overwhelming compulsion to clean the oven, phone your mother or feed the dog.

Begin with this sentence: "I've always wanted to write a novel, but..." and finish the sentence. Just that. Simple. Begin with externals: I've always wanted to write a novel but there isn't time because I need to work... I have to clean the house because no-one else will do it.... I have no space to write in... Write everything.

In my experience these interferences, though no doubt genuine and pressing, are not the main obstacle. Somewhere behind them lies the secret, hidden fear, which gets dressed up. Creativity is entering into the unknown. It's frightening. The fear that you won't succeed – or that you will (and then how will your best friend or lover or sister manage to be in the same room with you without vomiting with envy?). Or the fear that you'll touch something, once you start to write, which might open you up so terribly that you'll never be put together again.

As with life, if you let the secret fears niggle away, without naming them out loud, they have more power than they deserve. As with shadows, if you shine a torch on them, they shrink to their proper size.

So, try to dig a little deeper. Keep writing this: I've always wanted to write a novel but... and then, dig away at the external reasons, lift up the scab, and try to find the truth. Keep writing until you hit something which feels private and powerful.

Even among the chaos and requirements of everyday living, a desperate desire to write will outweigh the restrictions on time or space or money. Writers who overcome their fear of the unknown (or whose curiosity is stronger than the fear) wake up before their children, write on the train, throw out the television, live in messy houses – do whatever it takes, in other words, to write the story that they are marked out to tell.

Once you start naming the real fears, the secret ones, you can start to get to the truth. And truth is the cornerstone of good writing.

Kathryn Heyman is the author of five novels and course director at Faber Academy at Allen & Unwin.

Books by Kathryn Heyman

Storm and Grace

Published: February 2017

Their love knows no limits - but the further you go, the more dangers there are. Love becomes obsession and lust becomes control. A riveting thriller in the tradition of Gone Girl and Before I Go to Sleep.

Floodline

Published: September 2013

On the eve of a huge gay mardis gras a city is destroyed by a flood - a moving, passionate, original and utterly fresh novel from the acclaimed author of Captain Starlight's Apprentice.

Keep Your Hands on the Wheel

Published: December 2012

A superb, comic and moving evocation of sibling rivalry in a family with a dark secret.

Captain Starlight's Apprentice

Published: December 2012

'A tale of passion and courage . Heyman weaves the strands together with an imaginative gusto that echoes the great Angela Carter . delightful.' - The Times

The Breaking

Published: November 2012

Two women. Two very different, heroic lives. Two Australias.

The Accomplice

Published: November 2012

'You can almost smell the seasalt. a superb mix of lyricism and economy.' - Sunday Herald, UK

homepage promo2-FABER